Summer Serenade

Out of stock

Fast Shipping

Support: 30 Days


In one extended movement, Summer Serenade is aimed at the intermediate violin quartet and can be played successfully by 4 violins or larger forces. Rhythmically interesting and challenging, the music is full of high spirits and fun, with plenty of melodic interest shared between all four parts, and is typical of the accessible, jazzy and enjoyable music ofTony Osborne. Summer Serenade has been popular in performance and wit h much player-audience appeal. Tony Osborne is an important educationalist and prolific composer who has made a significant and unique contribution to the double bass repertoire over the past 35 years. His solo musicfor young bassists is included by many international examination boards , and his many ensembles pieces are performed at workshops and concerts throughout the world. Tony Osborne notes the influences of Gershwin, Copland and Bernstein, alongside some of the Russian masters, on his music,which he combines with a jazzy, rhythmic and energetic style that has b een popular with players and audiences worldwide. Born in 1947 into a musical family, Tony Osborne studied at the Royal Academy of Music (London) with John Walton (double bass) and Richard Stoker (composition), and divides a busy career between composing, teaching and performing. A veryprolific composer and arranger, Tony's original compositions include wo rks in almost every genre, notably Chaconne Syncopations and Wainwright's Ways for brass quintet, Celebration Fanfare for brass ensemble, the musical A Fine Time for Wine, a beautiful and dramatic Requiem and many works for string orchestra. In 2001 Tony Osborne was elected an ARAM (Associate of the Royal Academy of Music) for his pioneering and important work for double bass, and has been a featured composer at Bass-Fest for the past decade. He was a very successful BIBF Composer-in-residence in 2002-3 and wrote a number of impressive and innovative works for the project. He has been a judge for the British Composer Awards over the past few years and has been a judge for the BIBF Composition Competition since1999. Recital Music is planning a major festival of Tony Osborne's musi c in 2012, to celebrate the composer's 65th birthday, and has formulateda 10-year project to publish all his works for double bass. www.tony-os borne.com

More Information
SKU 930036080627
Manufacturer Recital Music
Last Updated 2021-01-28 03:10:51
Model Number RMS018
Arranger Louis Bleuzet|Pierre Pierlot
Medium Score/Parts
Publisher Recital Music
Format Violin Quartet
Composer Tony Osborne
Instrument Violin
Composer/Series OSBORNE
Production Status 2
Digital Download No

Sorry, no preview available.