Facebook Pixel

Suite Op. 14

In Store: Out of Stock
Online: Available

Fast Shipping

Support: 30 Days


Estimated to be ready for collection in 4-15 days
Did you find this item priced lower than $34.95 somewhere else? Yes
Suite Op. 14
The four-movement Suite op. 14 was composed in 1916 and was one of BartÌ_k's favourite piano works throughout his life. Unlike in his other works for piano of these years, he did not use any folksong melodies or folkloristic elements here. Instead, he endeavoured to achieve a new, more "abstract", transparent piano style that forgoes ornament and embellishment. A special feature of this Henle edition is the appendix with an additional Andante movement that was originally intended to come before the Scherzo, but which BartÌ_k removed from the Suite only shortly before its publication in 1918. The Urtext edition of this important work in the concert repertoire follows the musical text of the BartÌ_k Complete Edition. It has been edited by perhaps the most distinguished BartÌ_k scholar in the world today, LÌÁszlÌ_ Somfai, who has also written the comprehensive introduction to the work, and who offers helpful suggestions regarding its interpretation.
More Information
SKU 930036135370
Manufacturer G. Henle Verlag
Last Updated 2020-08-15 01:35:15
Model Number HN1403
Medium Softcover
Publisher G. Henle Verlag
Format Piano Solo
Composer Bela Bartok
Instrument Piano
Pages 31(07)
Editor Laszlo Somfai
Production Status 2

Sorry, no preview available.