Facebook Pixel

Sonata in C minor D 958

Out of stock

Fast Shipping

Support: 30 Days


Did you find this item priced lower than $41.95 somewhere else? Yes
Sonata in C minor D 958

Schubert's great C minor Sonata D 958 was composed in 1828 just a few months before his death, along with the late sonatas in A major (D 959) and B-flat major (D 960). Conceived as a triptych, they constitute his musical testament to the piano sonata genre.

This scholarly-critical edition by Walburga Litschauer is based on the åÒNew Schubert EditionåÓ and presents this masterpiece in a spacious new engraving. Notes on performance practice, especially on pedalling, and Schubert's distinctive manner of writing accents, form a Foreword to the work. Rounding off the edition is a Critical Commentary which presents alternative readings of interest to performers. Schubert's drafts for all four movements of the sonata can be accessed on BÌ_renreiter's website.

• Newly engraved scholarly-critical performing edition
• Detailed notes on performance practice (Ger/Eng)
• Practical page turns
• Access to Schubert's drafts at www.baerenreiter.com
• New Foreword (Ger/Eng) and Critical Commentary (Eng)

More Information
SKU 930036124374
Manufacturer BARENREITER
Last Updated 2020-09-22 12:45:40
Model Number BA10869
Medium Softcover
Publisher Barenreiter
Composer Franz Schubert
Instrument Piano
Pages 58(07)
Editor Walburga Litschauer
Production Status 2

Sorry, no preview available.