Out of stock

Fast Shipping

Support: 30 Days


Protect your Musical Instrument & Equipment
Promo Code: CARFOREVER Use code to receive an exclusive discount.
From $220 Condition apply please read T&C
from the Idyll "At Twilight" for Violin and Piano
The reputation of the Bohemian composer Zdenek Fibich (1850-1900) has always been somewhat overshadowed by that of Bedrich Smetana and Antonín Dvorák. This is a pity, for Fibich, though he died young, made an equallyimportant contribution to the emerging Czech national styl with his wid e range of compositions. After starting piano lessons with his mother ashis first teacher, the boy went on to music school in Prague and then t o the Leipzig Conservatoire, where he learned his craft as a composer. He spent a few months teaching piano in Paris and then continued his studies with Vinzenz Lachner in Mannheim. Prague was eventually to become the centre for Fibich's musical activities: as his dream of a post at the Conservatoire remained unfulfilled, his main employment was giving private music lessons and as a composer Zdenek Fibich wrote works for many musical genres: vocal and chamber music, piano pieces and orchestral works, operas, stage music and melodramas, literary recitals with orchestral accompaniment to which he gave a new lease of life. There are biographical traces to be found in the 376 piano pieces of the collection 'Moods, Impressions and Reminiscences' Op. 41, written in 1892-98: this tells ofhis love for his pupil Anezka Schulzová in the form of a 'piano diary'. Its four volumes were frequently a source of material for other works, such as the symphonic poem 'In the Evening' Op. 39 (also known as 'A Summer's Evening' and 'At Twilight'), written in 1893. For his second subject in this 'Idyll' Fibich used the minature no. 139, entitled 'Lento', from his collection of piano pieces. The violinst Jan Kubelík played the melody from 1908 onwards with the title 'Poème', and the work is still known today under this title: its easy charm has made it a favourite tunein the classical repertoire. This arrangement is based on the orchestra l version from which other material was adapted for the Prelude.
More Information
SKU 930036114849
Manufacturer Schott Music
Last Updated 2021-06-18 06:45:28
Model Number ED09810
Arranger Wolfgang Birtel
Medium Softcover
Publisher Schott Music
Composer Zdenek Fibich
Accompaniment Piano
Instrument Violin
Pages 8(07)
Composer/Series FIBICH
Production Status 2
Digital Download No