• 0
Australia's Largest Online Music Store - 02 9873 2333

The Oxford Companion to Music

SKU: 1001001235

The Oxford Companion to Music
Free Fast Shipping
Thousands of Happy Customers
Expert Advice


First published in 1938, The Oxford Companion to Music has been the first choice for authoritative information on all aspects of music. Now, 17 years since the last edition, the Companion is here to serve a new generation of students, teachers, performers, concert goers, record collectors, and music lovers. Completely revised and updated by a distinguished team of contributors, the Oxford Companion to Music features more than 1,000 new entries than the previous edition; more than 70 percent of the entire text is either new or entirely rewritten. Here, in articles that range from clear, concise definitions of musical ideas and terms to extended surveys of musical forms and styles, is authoritative coverage of virtually every musical subject. Embracing the world of music in all its variety--including jazz, popular music, and dance--the Companion offers aconcentrated focus on the Western classic tradition, from the Middle Ag es to the present day. More than 8,000 articles sweep across an extraordinary range of subjects: composers, performers, conductors, individual works, instruments and notation, forms and genres. From the study of music--theory, aesthetics, scholarship--to the way it is performed and disseminated, the Companion provides comprehensive, accessible coverage of music in all its artistic, historical, cultural, and social dimensions. Comprehensive, authoritative, up-to-date, and designed throughout for clarity and accessibility, the new Oxford Companion to Music, like every edition before it, will immediately become an indispensable resource for all who wish to enrich their love and knowledge of music.

Additional Information

SKU (Musipos ID) 1001001235
Manufacturer Oxford University Press
Arranger Jacob Narverud
Author Alison Latham
Artist Kansas
Medium Hardcover
Publisher Oxford University Press
Composer Kerry Livgren
Accompaniment Piano
Pages 1450(07)
Composer/Series LATHAM
Production Status 4


  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

There are no reviews for this product yet.