Extreme Make-Over

Out of stock
4 payments of $43.75
No Interest. No account fees. No late fees.
Learn More

Free Shipping

Support: 30 Days

Warranty: Please Enquire

Metamorphoses on a Theme by Tchaikovsky for Wind Orchestra
This new work by Johan de Meij consists of a set of metamorphoses on a theme from Tchaikovsky's well-known Andante cantabile (from String Quartet No. 1 in D). Tchaikovsky stated, “Never have I been so proud of my creative powers as when Leo Tolstoy sat in the chair next to mine listening to my Andante, and the tears ran down his cheeks.” De Meij states the theme with a saxophone quartet (joined by oboes, bassoons and clarinets), followed by the first metamorphosis, which emanates from a single tone. A timpani solo forms a transition to Alla Marcia, in a neo-classical style. The following movement features the playing of tuned bottles, leading into an extensive marimba solo. This joins seamlessly to the finale, a canonic treatment of the theme, leading to a festive conclusion.
More Information
SKU 930036072429
Manufacturer Amstel Music
Last Updated 2022-05-23 02:35:57
Model Number 4000215
Is Oversized No
Medium Score
Publisher Amstel Music
Composer Johan de Meij
Pages 72(07)
Composer/Series DE MEIJ
Production Status 2
Digital Download No