• 0
Australia's Largest Online Music Store - 02 9873 2333

Epitaph (Complete - Full Score)

SKU: 7011489

Epitaph (Complete - Full Score) is not available now
Free Fast Shipping
Thousands of Happy Customers
Expert Advice


There are no products matching the selection.


Epitaph, written for a 31-piece ensemble, was the masterwork of composer/bassist Charles Mingus. The extended suite is comprised of multiple movements reflecting a wealth of compositional styles (not just jazz) that demonstrate Mingus' invaluable contribution to 20th-century American music. Since its last performance 15 years ago, additional movementshave been discovered that were originally intended to be a part of the work. This unique 500-page score includes these “missing movements” along with historical and program notes. Prepared and edited under the guidance of Gunther Schuller and Sue Mingus, it provides a monumental resource for study and analysis. The first jazz composition of such magnitude ever to be published, it is presented in this edition as he left it: a summary work, a portrait for all time of his life in music. “I wrote it for my tombstone.” - Charles Mingus

Additional Information

SKU (APIC Barcode) 930036059165
Manufacturer Jazz Workshop, Inc.
Last Updated 2020-02-26 21:26:01
Model Number 7011489
Level/Grade Grade 4
Medium Score
Publisher Jazz Workshop, Inc.
Format Full Score
Composer Charles Mingus
Pages 357(07)
Production Status 2

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Epitaph (Complete - Full Score)

How do you rate this product? *