Dances from Terpsichore

Out of stock

Fast Shipping

Support: 30 Days

Warranty: 1 Year

Hudson Music Master Series

The melodic excitement, verve and stimulating rhythms in Praetorius's music portray the 'Spirit of The Dance' during the 16th and 17th Centuries. It inspired rejoicing, jollity, and energy. Michael Praetorius was oneof a number of 16th and 17th century German musicians to use the latini sed form of his name; his real name was Michael Schultz. He was a prolific composer and was much in demand by the nobility of the period to compose for dancing at the courts of Dukes. Terpsichore is the name of the Greek Muse of Dancing and Praetorius used this name as the title of his French Dances commissioned by the Duke of Brunswick and Lueneburg. Some of the tunes were obtained from the French Dance Masters and musicians who were in service at the court of the Duke to instruct students in the art of dancing. Other tunes he composed.

More Information
SKU 930036083449
Manufacturer Spartan Press
Last Updated 2021-01-17 12:16:38
Model Number SP675
Level/Grade Grade 5
Arranger William McConnel
Artist Rebecca Leest
Medium Parts
Publisher Spartan Press
Format String Quartet
Composer Michael Praetorius
Instrument Viola|Cello|Violin
Composer/Series PRAETORIUS
Production Status 2
Digital Download No

Sorry, no preview available.