• 0
Australia's Largest Online Music Store - 02 9873 2333

Buffo Set

SKU: RM243

Free Fast Shipping
Thousands of Happy Customers
Expert Advice


There are no products matching the selection.


Buffo Set is a four movement suite composed in the 1960s by American composer-bassist, Armand Russell, and is aimed at the intermediate bassist.It remains in bass clef throughout and the mildly chromatic idiom and s trong rhythmic momentum make this ideal as concert or study material. There is effective interplay between the two instruments, combining technical challenges with musical ones, with great scope for inventiveness within a more challenging soundworld. Armand Russell has composed many works for double bass - beginner to advanced - and Recital Music are planning to publish many of these works which remain in manuscript. Buffo Set was written in 1964 for double bass students at the University of Hawaii in Honolulu. The first version was for 2 double basses and was followed, later that year, with a version for double bass and piano. The premiere of both versions was at the University of Hawaii in 1965. Performance Level: 6;7 Armand Russell was born in Seattle, Washington in 1932. He received the Bachelor of Arts and Master of Arts degrees from the University of Washington, with a major in music composition, and a Doctoratein music composition from the Eastman School of Music. He studied doubl e bass with Leslie Martin, who played in the Seattle Symphony and BostonSymphony Orchestras, and at the Eastman School of Music with Oscar Zimm erman. His composition studies were with John Verrall and George McKay at the University of Washington, and with Bernard Rogers and Howard Hanson at the Eastman School. Professionally, Armand Russell played double bass in many orchestras including the Seattle Symphony Orchestra, Boston Pops Tour Orchestra, Rochester Philharmonic and Civic Orchestras, and Honolulu Symphony. For five years he taught as a visiting Professor at theEastman School of Music. From 1961 to 1994 he taught at the University of Hawaii Music Department and retired as Professor emeritus in 1994. While at the University of Hawaii he taught music theory, composition and double bass and also served as Chair of the Music Department for seven years. Armand Russell has composed many works for double bass and also percussion, including solos, chamber music and concertos. Some of his most frequently performed works include Chaconne (Db/Pno), Buffo Set (Db/Pno), Harlequin Concerto (Db/Orch), Pas de Deux (Cl/Perc), Percussion Suite, Theme & Fantasia (Concert Band) and Suite Concertante (Tuba/Wind Quintet). He has also composed several works for choirs in recent years and has continued to write for the double bass alongside a growing body of chamber music and transcriptions. Armand Russell's compositional style is confident and direct with a clarity of line and texture always to the fore. A modern, yet lyrical and accessible style, has created works which communicate equally to performers and audiences alike and he has made,and continues to make, a unique and valuable contribution to the double bass litereature throughout a long and successful career.

Additional Information

SKU (APIC Barcode) 930036107486
Manufacturer Recital Music
Last Updated 2020-01-05 03:21:22
Model Number RM243
Level/Grade Grade 6|Grade 7
Medium Softcover
Publisher Recital Music
Composer Armand Russell
Accompaniment Piano
Instrument Double Bass
Production Status 2


  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

There are no reviews for this product yet.